Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations?

Educational tools and methods have significantly improved over the years. One of the educational aspects that still have arguments on is how to assess educational achievement. Many people insist that formal examinations are not the best method. In this essay, I will evaluate this approach, as well as other assessment techniques, and how combining them is the most efficient way of assessing. The first method of assessment is, as said, the formal examinations. These examinations are set at the end of the term to measure the educational achievement of students by answering questions and solving problems. Some of the advantages of this approach are assessing the academic skills of the students and their intellectual response to problems in a limited time. However, there are many drawbacks, such as providing only one chance for students to prove their abilities. Moreover, its assessment focuses more on memorizing information rather than learning and improving. Another assessment approach is through doing projects, seminars, and research. This method allows a great opportunity for self-learning and applying the knowledge the students acquire in real-life problems. Students would feel the connections with the subjects, which will improve the level of learning. As well as developing communication skills and working as a team. However, some difficulty could face the teacher in ensuring that each member participates. The third method is continuous assessment through the term. The teacher assesses how much each student understands and learns a specific skill or a topic of the subject. This approach allows the student to catch up with his/her colleagues, and for the teacher to determine the strengths and weaknesses of each student individually, to modify the teaching plan. But this technique could be applied only in small classrooms. Overall, each assessment method has its advantages and disadvantages, and that implies the efficient approach of combining between at least two of them. This could be an optimal solution to compensate for the weaknesses of each of them to improve the students learning experience.