Many people believe that formal ‘pen and paper’ examinations are not best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations?

Pen and paper exams are one of the most common methods of measuring learning in schools around the world. However, whether they are the best approach to measure academic performance or not is still a controversial question. Personally, I think that the role of examinations should be reconsidered. On the one hand, there are certain advantages to exams. They are relatively versatile with different types of exam questions such as multiple-choice questions and essay tasks, which can test different sorts of ability. However, exams also have some drawbacks. Students who have good test-taking skills can perform well on exams without having to study hard to understand the subjects deeply. On the other hand, some test-takers do poorly in exams because of their anxiety. Besides, some teachers and leaners only focused on some aspects of the curriculum that are likely to be tested, thus narrowing the educational experience for all. A number of measures should be concerned to address these concerns. Exams should be match the content and activities of the learning environment. Exam tasks should be varied to five fair opportunities to candidates with different types of skills. Other types of assessment should be considered: writing assignment, for example, to assess independent learning and research skills, question and answer section to test communication skill, or group projects, to measure teamwork ability. In conclusion, exams clearly have an important role in the educational system but in the future, it should be associated with many other forms of assessment in order to truly measure academic performance.