In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

While the majority of the youth in USA shift out of their parents' house at 18 years of age itself, many in India live with their parents even at 25 years of age. Be it part of the norm or the parenting culture, we are posed with a thought evoking dilemma. Do the benefits of staying with your mother and father outweigh the harms? The advantages of living with family are numerous. Being economically feasible, it allows adults to save money out of their earnings while still having a decent and comfortable living with no shortfalls. While most people get homesick and are not able to cope up on their own, residing with parents provides mental support and helps in preventing frequent low points in life. Moreover, it also results in sufficient hours being available for self care and distressing as the burden of housework is shared by all family members. A study conducted on adults in the age category of 20 to 30 years revealed that those staying at home showed signs of better mental and physical health than those living on their own. However, this comes with some major disadvantages. Often, adults become overly dependent on their guardians for the smallest of tasks. They are not able to juggle work and personal life without seeking for help almost all the time. This proves to be detrimental later in life when they are not able to manage on their own. Furthermore, they also become emotionally dependent and suffer from mental health issues in the future. They take a long time to learn to live on their own and adjust in a new environment because of being used to staying in their comfort zone for such a long time. This makes them incompetent and they are thus, often pushed back in the race of life. Therefore, it is clear that staying with family only slows down the development of these individuals than helping them. So, to conclude, I strongly believe that the disadvantages of such a living arrangement outweighs the advantages, and thus, more and more people should start living on their own.