Universities offer opportunities to study many different subjects Do the benefits of studying many different subjects outweigh the drawbacks?

Some universities require students to choose a variety of subjects and university students should take advantage of this. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I believe that its pros outweigh its cons. On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when studying a lot of subjects. To begin with, studying different subjects is time-consuming. Students may suffer stress and tiredness when being up to their ears in projects and assignments. Hence, they easily drop out of college. Furthermore, studying multiple subjects can be distracting. Students may not pay full attention to a certain subject when they have two or more subjects in a row. Therefore, they can fail that subject and take time to study again. On the other hand, studying many different subjects has a lot of benefits. Firstly, students can prepare their future careers better. A teacher does not need to know only about giving a lesson, for instance. She also needs to know how to respond to students' emotional needs. Secondly, students studying a number of different subjects can become more responsible members of society. They need to understand the economic and social issues of their communities so that they can vote responsibly. In addition, they will need to be able to educate their children, no matter what their children's abilities and interests are. Finally, studying many subjects can add a great deal of enjoyment to a student's life. If students understand fashion, they will get a lot of enjoyment from fashion shows and conventions. If they study literature, they will continue to read good books. Life is about more than just a career. If students know plenty of subjects, they will be more competitive than those who do not. In a word, studying many different subjects can be an opportunity to fulfill your dreams. It depends on how you overcome its difficulties and make your future brighter and more promising.