Many people believe that countries should produce food for all populations and import as little food as possible.

The question of how many food variations should be presented on the market has provokes an ongoing debate. While some people support the idea that governments should decrease level of imported food and sustain locally produced goods, I would firmly disagree with the above stated position. First, it is proven that because of the more northern climate some countries cannot cultivate specific fruits and vegetables like mango or avocado, for instance, such countries as Sweden or Norway. Because of that, they have to satisfy demand of its consumers via shipments from warmer countries where cultivation is possible. Hence, it is undeniable that a privilege to consume exotic foods is not feasible without the support of external markets which can export them in order to cover people’s needs, otherwise, people may face difficulties to achieve vital vitamins among their nutrition. Second, it is well-known that production of some specific products such as beverages in PET-bottles can hurt country’s environment. For instance, some steps in the technological process may lead to air pollution, excessive emission of CO2 and other unpleasant consequences. Because of that, some governments as Switzerland for instance, took a decision to ban production of PET-bottles and distribute them only as imported goods with further recycling. That is why, It is quite clear why some politicians are advocating for imported products in regard to save their environment. In conclusion, while there are many arguments against distribution of foreign goods, I would firmly agree with the view that products from external markets can become a true relief when it comes to comprehensive nutrition for well-being or willingness to keep nature in safe.