Many parents today organise extra classes for their children after school or at the weekends. Do you feel that this is a worthwhile thing to do, or do you feel children have enough education at school?

In this time and age, an increasing number of far-sighted parents consider sending their children to additional classes with a view to enhancing their academic performance. While it is apparent that students can benefit from this approach, I am convinced that it may not be necessary. In this essay, I shall discuss the merits and demerits of extra classes. It goes without saying that enrichment classes provide crucial advantages regarding academic outcome improvement and skills enhancement. To begin with, these classes offer learners an opportunity to consolidate the knowledge they gain at school and broaden their horizons. Weak students can fill the knowledge gap and reinforce what they have learnt in the school curriculum. Similarly, those who are in the advanced academic level or aspiring to enrol in gifted schools may further boost their capacity with complex concepts and assignments. Another worth-noticing benefit of this method is that it promotes skills development. By attending supplementary classes in different domains, students can hone their soft skills such as communication and adaptability. Moreover, they can get specific training in a field that they are passionate about, which may be useful in future career paths. Accordingly, it may be inferred that attending extra classes may be prominently beneficial. Nonetheless, this methodology has its own downsides, including lack of relaxation and unnecessary pressure. In the first place, extra classes may deprive students of recreation. School curriculum is organised in such a way that is comprehensive and promotes well-rounded development. To that end, students should spend their free time doing leisure activities such as sports and reading so as to promote healthy growth. Another drawback worth mentioning is that students may suffer from tremendous stress. When their schedule is packed, they have no time to absorb knowledge; besides, strenuous studying may result in health problems such as insomnia, migraine or anxiety and depression. A research conducted by over 20 universities in the United States in 2018 shows that students who take more than four additional classes a week have worse physical and mental health than those who do not. Therefore, it could be implied that this approach may be counterproductive and may lead to undesirable results. All things considered, while taking extra classes is useful in terms of academic performance improvement and skills development, it might not be necessary due to lack of relaxation and unnecessary stress. I opine to the fact that children already have enough education at school and parents should deliberately consider their priorities prior to enrolling in extra classes.