Many parents today organise extra classes for their children after school and at the weekends. Do you feel that this is a worthwhile thing to do or do you feel children have enough education at school?

The pressure exerted onto children nowadays is immense. Not only are many schools transformed into all-day establishments, but for many children the end of school is not the end of their day. Parents often organise extra classes after school and at the weekends to educate their children further. It is argued that this is unnecessary pressure, as children have enough education at school In most schools, children are educated in the sciences, languages and mathematics, as well as physical education and the arts. This wide range of subjects is aimed at creating a well-rounded student. Due to this variety, extra classes are unnecessary, as the student can adequately learn to be exposed to all different aspects of education. Furthermore, additional classes can lead to stressed children that are incapable of performing well in school, as they lack time to really comprehend and practice the knowledge learned. Therefore, extra classes can actually lead to students performing worse in school, as the students cannot fully grasp any knowledge that they learn, whether in school or in the extra classes. However, in some schools the range is not as developed as it should be or the level that they are at is not sufficient for a student. In this case it does make sense to further educate children outside of school. Whether the extra classes have positive or negative effects depends solely on the child and how they perform in school. In conclusion, extra classes can be helpful to some students who are not challenged enough in school. Parents should be careful about deciding whether their children need the extra help or whether free time for playing and relaxation might be more beneficial.