Many parents encourage young people to leave home when they become older, while others think they should stay at home with the family.

Deciding if the children are of age to live on their own or continue to live in their father's house is becoming an increasing debate as some people think this should be encouraged while others think otherwise. This essay will discuss both views as well as give its own opinion on the topic. Firstly, due to educational reasons, some young people leave home at an early age to go to boarding school where they learn to be independent and capable of taking care of themselves. Studies have shown that this has helped them to grow up and adapt to different circumstances which they may face in life. This is also beneficiary to parents who can channel their resources to other things. Secondly, due to the health concerns of the parents, young people especially females are encouraged to stay home to take care of their aged father while they are still spinsters pending when they get married. This is particularly predominant in Africa, where young girls are encouraged to care of their father while they go to school or work. I am of the opinion that young people should be given the opportunity to be independent at an early age so as to have more working class citizens who will be productive to the society rather than having them continue to live under the roof of their beloved ones, making the society a menace to live in. By having them leave home at an early period, they can venture into businesses which would further increase the internally generated revenue of the country as well as open up new areas which have not been explored leading to more wealth for the country.