At the present time, populations of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, some nations have a large proportion of young people in comparison with old people. While this scheme has its negative reflections, I believe that the benefits overshadow them. Having a small percentage of older citizens in relation to younger ones in a population can be disadvantageous for several reasons. Firstly, old age is linked with experience, and with the reduction of the numbers of experienced individuals comes problems. For example, a company that is looking to hire a CEO would rather employ an older, seasoned person than a young person that has not worked long enough to aquire the wisdom to further the enterprise’s progress. Secondly, a large number of young adults may cause overcrowding in certain institutions, such as high schools and universities; institutions that often attract people of young age groups. However, I would argue that the pros of this situation outweigh the cons, as it is financially advantageous. Older individuals can not work as efficiently as young ones; thus, productivity is extremely boosted in a society where the majority of the population is young people. In addition, the elderly often suffer from health issues that their young counterparts are free from. This does not only hinder their ability to contribute to their communities, but it also costs the state huge amounts of money in the form of medical bills. These factors ultimately become a burden that damages the country’s economy. In conclusion, I opine that the advantages of having a lower age average in a nation certainly outweighs the disadvantages.