It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society.

People believe that they are highly influenced by the media(news and Internet) and it is getting tough to get rid of it. This essay will give the benefits and drawbacks on media and its impacts. The fundamental advantage of media is that the information is spreading faster among users. The news, which is of high importance is reachable to the people in fraction of seconds and it is just a finger tips away. For example, if a state is declared with holiday for some emergency conditions, the people could be informed well in advance. In addition, the crimes can be brought undercontrol with the help of media. The crime rate is high in those countries, wherein, the media coverage is less. If criminals are aware of them getting captured, then they will be frightened in committing it. For instance, the crime rate has been descended in India with the advent of media coverage. On the other hand, the media has a negative impact on child's development. Teenagers are prone to publicities made online, wherein, there are higher probabilities of them getting influenced by bad content. For example, the crime scenes portrayed on televisions will gain attention of younsters and chances of them committing it under certain circumstances will be high. Additionally, lack of privacy in civilian's lifestyle, as each and every moments are being captured. Anxiety arises among citizens for every small mistakes they commit. Thus, the lifestyle of people will be affected by the impact of media. To conclude, the advantages like having up-to-date knowledge about the society and reduction of crime rates will far outweigh the minor drawbacks such as impact on youths and privacy constraints.