Many parents complain that computer games have no value to their children s study On the contrary those online games have produced a lot of negative effects on their mental and physical development What is your opinion

It is true that these day’s more and more children and adolescents are addicted to playing games on computers and smartphones. This, in my opinion, is a negative development in the society and is leading to numerous psychological problems in the little ones. Furthermore, playing these games does not yield any benefit, instead are a bane to their upbringing. Computer games, firstly and most importantly, are highly addictive in nature, which means that, when a child starts playing them, he/she develops a kind of psychological dependency, and such cravings will pull him towards them. Such a behavior will lead to spending most of their leisure time by playing computer games, consequently, they will have minimal or almost no physical activity. This lead to numerous health issues such as obesity, cardiac problems to name a couple. For example, as per the latest report by the National Health Services (NHS) of UK, approximately 60 percent of children spend more than 4 hours of their leisure time on a daily basis on either playing online games over the internet or offline games on smartphones. This is a seriously disturbing trend, which does have long-term devastating consequences. Secondly, more often than not, online games expose children to violent and cruel behaviors, these games are replete with violent actions in which, the actor, in this case, the child, uses armory such as pistols and bombs, such a cruel action will have negative and violent influence on the child’s behavior. For instance, not long ago, a game by the name Blue-Shark was shared on online platforms in which, the gamer had to go through various self-destructive actions, after successfully completing all the levels, the final one would lead to the suicide. This crazy game had taken lives of more than 100 adolescents all over the world. Electronic games, finally, obviously impacts the academics of the children, as they spend most of their time playing instead of doing their homework and assignments. For the reasons mentioned above, it can be concluded that computer games in the form of play-station or online gaming are highly dangerous for children, both in psychological as well as psychical terms. Parents and guardians, therefore, must ensure to keep their children away from these addictive natured activities.