Many parents believe that when their children read books for entertainment, they are wasting their time, and that they should read only serious, educational books. What is your opinion about this?

It is argued that the number of TV shows and movies on crime is increasing. There are undoubtedly some causes as well as negative consequences of this trend in the society. Several reasons can cause the popularity of the crime movie genre. The plot in such films is mysterious with some elements of adventure which leads to a sense of curiosity in the audience as well as an increase in the adrenaline hormone level. These two factors result in excitement, joy, and satisfaction among people after watching such movies. As a result, there would be a high demand for production of such genre. So producers, actors, and writers are keen on working on such movies, since the box office is guaranteed. As such movies and programs are getting popular, several related negative consequences can be anticipated. The main issue is that people, especially teenagers, are introduced and encouraged in various ways of involving in criminal activity. Although, the act of crime is not being appreciated in movies directly, the individuals who play such roles are famous actors or actresses that have a huge number of fans, those fans can easily be influenced by the charactered played in the movie. Another effect is that, being proposed to so much violence through the time makes people to be short tempered. People who watch such scenes would be more probable to get frustrated and angry in their life. For example, when someone watches a movie full of killing and blood scenes will have those pictures in his or her mind for a while, and it can cause them to be annoyed sooner than peers. In conclusion, various reasons are enhancing the popularity of criminal movies which certainly has adverse effect on the society.