Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices.

It is a common thing that governments will protect some of the historical buildings in their country, but some people disagree with it. They believe that these old buildings should be demolished and replaced with new ones, as the demand for properties is increasing rapidly these days. I believe that maintaining some of the historical buildings is an important thing and a combination between classic and modern buildings in the city would be an advantage for the city itself. For a number of reasons, maintaining historical building is an important thing. Firstly, these historical buildings have become the witness of some of the country's significant and monumental events. For example, White House had been the witness of how the American had obtained its independence from the British, and how slavery had been ceased by Abraham Lincoln. Secondly, many old buildings contain a priceless value of art, as some buildings were designed by famous architects or painted by some legendary painters such as the church in Rome which was painted by Michelangelo. Therefore it is important for the government to preserve old buildings. Many cities have successfully combined classic and modern buildings in their master plan. As they have realised that this combination would make the city become more attractive. In cities such as in London, Brussels and Paris, people would commonly see that many historical buildings are preserved as museums or become government offices. Standing to these historical buildings are new and modern buildings which have a futuristic design. Many people believe that the combination has made these cities become unique and attractive for tourists. As a result, it has boosted the city tourism industry and created a lot of job opportunities for the local people. In conclusion, many countries are protecting old buildings, as they believe that preserving and maintaining the buildings is an essential thing. Although some people think that old buildings should be replaced with new ones as the demand for properties has increased significantly, I personally believe that some of the old buildings should be preserved, as they have historical and artistic values. Besides that, the combination of old and modern buildings would make the city become more unique and it would attract many tourists.