Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old building? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Dignity of a country. Few people opine that old building should be replaced by the new building. I believe that preserving ones historical monuments is essential in order to maintain pride of a nation and it also signifies the importance of medieval period. This essay would discuss ample of benefits of protecting ancient blocks and some of its effects on the way of progress. To begin with, identity of a nation is known from its untold tales of past. For example, old monuments, churches and temples signify a nation’s culture which should be taken care. To add on, there are number of historical buildings all over the world which is visited by the tourist due to its cultural heritage and mesmerizing beauty. Thus, preserving ancient monuments is important for a nation’s identity and serving as background information for the people of the society. However, there are few individuals who think that old buildings must be demolished and replaced by new one. In fact, it would not only give a particular monument a new look but also attract many people from all over the world to come and visit a country. To exemplify, with better infrastructure and design of latest times would preserve it for a longer period of time without losing its originality. Moreover, it would also mean that the country stimulates growth and fund is raised for the government in huge amount through international exposure. Hence, replacement of old monuments with new touch would confer in the progress of a society. To recapitulate, although replacing old buildings with new can be beneficial to the nation but on the other hand, I believe that preservation of ancient monuments is most important to inform people how country use to be in the past period.