In the modern world, there is a movement away from written exams to more practical assessment.

One of the burning issues in today’s world is the accurate method of evaluating students with practical tests instead of traditional written ones. There are some debates over the more usefulness and precision between these two methods and in this essay, I shall discuss both the benefits and negative consequences of this trend. To begin with, it is widely accepted that the technology has dramatically changed the way we teach and evaluate students. So, in order to follow new and improved developments and methods, we need new techniques in teaching. Therefore, the new trend of evaluating are needed in order that old ones can no longer assess how much students understand their courses. There is a convincing evidence that written exams are time-consuming and cannot illustrate student’s knowledge correctly since some people only memorise everything very fast, but eventually, they forget everything even faster. Having said that, it must not be ignored that it is actually difficult to score students by their performance even if the practical approach of evaluating is followed. It also depends on the perception of examiners and having experienced teachers in our educational institutes is also a challenge. In addition, more time and money have to be spent on practical tests with fixed criteria of grading. Thus it is the obvious reason why traditional methods have been kept its popularity till now. Additionally, in some courses such as history and so on there are no sufficient requirements on practical assessment, hence traditional methods can estimate appropriately and in areas like this, a combination of exam system should exist. Overall, despite some drawbacks of practical tests, it has become one of the main procedures of evaluating students recently but written exams are also widely used all around the world. I believe that both types of exams are required for investigating students skills and abilities.