Some people think the latest technology for home entertainment such as sophisticated TVs, high-speed internet connections and tablets are having a negative impact on people's lives, especially young people.

Like many other technological tools, modern home entertainment devices have both positive and negative aspects. However, overall, this has far more advantages than demerits and if not overused, technologies like the high-speed internet and smart TV can be  great learning tools for the people, especially young. To begin with, powerful internet connection, smart TV, gaming console etc. all have entertaining as well as educational values. If not misused, young generation can learn from these sophisticated and advanced devices. The merits or demerits of these devices lie on the parental guidance and the way they are utilised. For instance, if a child watches TV programmes all day long, it would negatively affect his eyes, health and academic performance. However, if a teenager watches educational videos and programmes on YouTube and channels like the NetGeo or  Discovery, he would definitely learn many new things. Another key point to remember, people need entertainment in order to lead a stress-free and happy life. The lack of entertainment facility often attributes towards the moral degradation and this is quite alarming. Hence, people must have ways to spend some quality times on their own. Modern tools like computers, tabloid PCs and smart TVs fill the gap and allow busy people find ways to enjoy their leisure time. Considering this, I would like to suggest that latest technology for the personal and family entertainment is rather a blessing. To conclude, the home entertainment technology itself does not have the ability to bring detrimental outcomes for people. Rather how we use them defines how useful or harmful those devices are and that is why we should be more sensible to use those technologies even if they are meant to entertain or educate us.