Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people needhouses and offices. How important is it to maintain old building? Should history stand in the way of progress?

A lot of ancient buildings are guarded by the authority because they have historical significance in a nation. It is however thought by some that old structures ought to be demolished and replaced by modern ones because individuals need houses and work stations. This essay will give information about the importance of maintaining ancient structures and also give reasons why the past ought not to hinder advancement. Ancient buildings are essential assets in any country and should be maintained because they protect the country's cultural heritage. In other words, They ensure that the culture does not go extinct and thus, it should be maintained. For example, the building that housed the slave traders in Badagry, Lagos, Nigeria, in 1904, when it was reconstructed, it lost its historical value because the majority of artefacts were discarded. Therefore, there should be maintenance of ancient buildings in order to keep history alive. History ought not to hinder advancement in any form because it has its part to play in the modern world. This is because the progress of any nation largely depends on its past. Moreover, learning about the old enables one fashion out future plans effectively and efficiently. Take for instance, the underground tunnel system that was built in the United Kingdom, in 2002, this was made possible because the previous tunnel constructed in 1902 was a benchmark for the construction of this recent one. That is to say, history enhances progress rather than hinder it. In conclusion, the maintenance of old houses, protects our cultural heritage and does not stand in the way of advancing, but rather, it gives rise to ideas for modern advancement.