Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this.

The responsibility of teaching the children to become good civilians of the society is debatable. Some people claim it is the duty of parents, however, others feel schools are the best place for that. This essay will discuss both the views and explain why parents play a major part in nurturing the child to become a valuable person. On one side, parents are the first role models for the children and hence they are greatly influenced by the behaviour of their parents. In addition, these forerunners can mould their characters, since the little ones are in the process of learning. Moreover, if the children develop bad qualities in this phase of life, then later it becomes difficult to change. For instance, children who keep telling lies continue to do the same, even when they are grown up. Therefore, a good parenting style of nurturing the children matters a lot, especially in bringing out the best in them. On the other side, schools are another spot where a child is exposed to multiple characters. Although, teachers do help in shaping the attitude of a child, they can only do the fine tuning part. In other words, choosing a bad quality depends on the innate character or upbringing of a child. Teachers can be a guiding light to children and make them learn better manners. For instance, children tend to become social and make new friends at schools, who are from a different culture and religion. To summarise, parents are important in developing a child to understand the fabric of a society, while teachers are of help in further shaping of an individual at school. Although, teachers can blend the nature of a child, still it is the duty of parents to nurture a child to cope up with the society. Therefore, those children with good upbringing can become good civilians of the society.