Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation's history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Historical buildings are an integral part of the cultural heritage of a society. It is argued by a few people that they should be demolished, and modern buildings should be constructed. The essay will first enlighten the importance of such buildings, as they represent the soft image of national history, and then discuss as these cultural sights help in the development of a country and are not a hindrance. As far as the importance of protection of historical relics is concerned, several factors contribute to its significance, as this is the symbol that a nation respects its cultural values and is willing to save them as a monument of pride for a country. For example, the Badshahi Mosque is one of the famous historical buildings, which was constructed in the Mughal Emperor era, and the architecture presents the cultural values of Muslims expressively. Henceforth, it is indeed crucial to restoring such artifacts as a sign of the dignity of a state. Meanwhile, some people believe that history is the hindrance to the development of a country, which seems unjustified. it is one of the robust sources to progress in the modern world. Nevertheless, it is a fact that history plays a significant role in raising the economy of a nation. For instance, there are a million tourists that visit such traditional places every year, and through this, a country can generate useful revenue which can be utilized in the protection, and renovation of such buildings. Therefore, history is rather a source of progress then a hurdle. In conclusion, It is an undeniable fact that historical buildings are the national heritage of the state, as these relics do not only draw a polite picture of traditional values but also contribute to generating a reasonable revenue that could be utilized in uplifting the economy of a country.