Many newspapers and magazines feature stories about the private lives of famous people. We know what they eat, where they buy their clothes and who they love. We also often see pictures of them in private situations. Is it appropriate for a magazine or newspaper to give this kind of private information about people?

Even though stories about the personal lives of celebrities are featured in magazines and newspapers every day, I don't believe it is appropriate to share private information about these people. Not only does sharing of this information by media endanger the safety of famous people, but this also results in media intruding their personal life. To start with, celebrities have a large fan base, which might consist of fans that are mentally ill. For these fans, magazines and newspapers offer a continuous stream of data which includes the places at which they eat, their time of travel each day and much more. This can help the fans in tracking the expected route of a celebrity and ultimately meeting them. In case a fan is mentally ill, then the person can act as a potential threat to the safety of the famous person, which is due to the personal information provided by the media. Hence, sharing of private information can affect the safety of famous people. Also, everyone has the right to keep their personal life private. Even though famous people achieve fame by being recognized by the media, but this doesn't mean that they would also want their personal life to be shared with everyone. On the contrary, it has been observed that film actors prefer keeping their personal life hidden as they don't believe in sharing the same with the public. Hence, sharing of personal information by media results in media intruding the personal space of the celebrities. To conclude, sharing of personal information by magazines and newspapers is not appropriate since not only does this result in potential threats to the safety of famous people but also results in media entering the personal space of these people.