Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business Why do you think that it? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

Creative skills were a significant part of global society, but now-a-days people are less interested in them and are focused mainly towards applied practical skills. In my opinion, this scenario has taken place because of lack of understanding the importance of art among people and their ruling bodies. To begin with, people must understand that artistic skills are necessary for any practical skill development as learning them is known to improve lateral thinking in children and adults. In other words, learning arts has innumerable benefits and people should educate themselves about it. To exemplify this, a recent research by The Greater Michigan University shows that people who learn or play a musical instrument regularly have more functional brains when compared to the others. Secondly, the decline in the interest of authorities to promote art related establishments such as music colleges is another crucial factor, which is forcing people to choose the science and technology over the art. For example, there are fewer art colleges today than ever, but the number of business schools is at a rise because of the funding and encouragement they obtain from the governing bodies. In order to address the above reasons, the ruling bodies need to improve in terms of funding the art and related events such as music concerts. Also, initiatives need to be taken by the authorities to make art compulsory in early education. In addition, people should understand and educate others regarding the need of art in our daily life. In conclusion, although art played a significant role in history, an increasing population is interested in the business and technology and is showing lesser interest in arts. This is because of the lack of awareness and funding to improve arts. Hence, the people and their authorities should address this together as stated above.