Many Museums charge for admission while others do not. Do you think that the advantages of charging people into the museum out weights the disadvantages?

The Museums are the custodians of every society and we must ensure that this extends to the other generations. Whilst some people argue that we must pay a token to visit these places, I believe that this decision is wrong. Supporters of this school of thought argue that these heritages should be tolled. This is because the Government is interested about other public institutions such as school and hospitals, while they pay no attention to Art. The generated revenue, therefore, would be used to ensure that they function effectively. For example, the capacity of the National Museum in Ghana had increased to accommodate more visitors from the moment people began to pay for admission. Hence, it became one of the most desired places to visit in the country. On the other hand, I believe that the reasons given above is a potential disaster. Firstly, these Museums are our collective property. Since every item displayed belongs to us all, it would be out of place for people to be billed before they can view. Secondly, gate fees would discourage a lot of interested persons from enjoying the tour. This is because these extra charges would add to the financial burden which individuals are not ready to bear. The Arts department of the Queen's University, in 2003, reported that the number of people visiting Museums in Nigeria increased about four times within a year when the government abolished ticket fees at heritage homes and the interest of student in history rose significantly. Hence, we are sure that the next generation would maintain our values and culture. In conclusion, the glory of every society is the ability to preserve and propagate what they stand for. This can only be done when we the gates are wide open to all and sundry without any monetary restrictions.