Many museums and historical sites are mostly visited by foreign tourists, but not local people. Why do you think it happens? What can be done to attract local visitors to these sites?

It is seen that museums and historical places are visited by tourists and local people avoid visiting them. This essay will discuss the reasons for this and suggest a viable solution to encourage native people to visit museums and monuments. To embark on, there are some reasons why local citizens do not visit museums. First and foremost, people find it boring to visit such places. It takes a considerable amount of time to explore these heritage sites and people hardly find anything new. Museums house artefacts and artworks which might not be everyone’s cup of tea. So people feel that it is a waste of time to visit monuments and art galleries. Secondly, many of the museums and historical sites charge an entry fee. If a person visited it once, they would avoid visiting it again because nobody wants to pay again and again to watch the same artworks. For instance, there is a museum in my city named “The Chocolate Room”. It charges a hefty 1000 rupees as entry fee and last month my cousin requested me to visit the museum but I refused due to the fact that I had already visited the museum and I did not want to pay the entry fee again. There are some possible solutions which can attract local people to visit museums and historical buildings. These places depict the history and the culture of our forefathers. So schools can impart knowledge about historical places amongst the students so that they gain interest in and respect for such places. Additionally, traditional museums can be blended with modern museums to give a new experience to the visitors. For example, Madame Tussauds museum houses ancient paintings along with modern wax made statues of well-recognized celebrities. After this fusion, there is a massive rise in the number of local and foreign visitors to the museum. Lastly, scraping the entry fee can also attract native people to revisit the museums and historical buildings. To recapitulate, it is clear that local people avoid visiting museums and historical building because they are out-dated and charge an entry fee. To rekindle locals’ interest, schools can teach students about the importance of such places; authorities must strive to update museums frequently and entry fee can be exempted.