Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and solutions.

In the modern world, urbanisation and industrialisation has brought opportunity and prosperity, though at a cost in quality of life. With an increasing city population, the complexity of issues also increases. This essay seeks to explore the underlying reasons and will outline potential ways to address it. Although people expect to experience a betterment in life, this works paradoxically in certain aspects. As the population of cosmopolitan cities increases rapidly, there are a huge number of vehicles commute through the streets and this causes traffic congestion in many urban areas. Moscow, for instance, is hugely affected with traffic problems, where people expect to spend an average of extra 55% time on road. In addition to that, the large population density deteriorates the air quality enormously which triggers health issues, particularly, respiratory illness. Therefore, it is apparent that the overcrowding affects the quality of urban life significantly. Meanwhile, there are few measures that can tackle this pressing concern. One of the most effective ways is to invest in public transport. Provided that there are more viable travel options, the inhabitants utilize them to save their time and energy, which results in a drop of private vehicles in city area. This envtal friendly strategy directly contributes to a cleaner environment. According to the US Envtal Agency reports, public transportation reduces country’s carbon emissions by 35 million metric tons each year which shows that an effective public transportation system can improve the citizens’ life quality to a great extent. To conclude, a wealthy city attracts a large populn inflow, which then causes pressure on existing infrastructure and amenities. Improving public services would definitely assist to alleviate such drawbacks