Many museums and historical sites are mostly visited by foreign tourists, but not by local people. Why do you think it happens? What can be done to attract local people to these sites?

It is an undeniable fact that the historical places and museums have now become the sources of attraction only for the tourists. The lack of new attractive sources and high entry charges are the reasons behind the little interest of local people for these sites. To combat this issue, some measures are required to be taken by the authorities. The crucial reason for the less visit of natives to museums and historical places is that they feel bored while visiting such places. In other words, the natives are mostly familiar with the history of these buildings and visiting the same sites is considered a waste of time. Additionally, owing to the lack of new sources of attraction, the repetitive visits to these places generate a feeling of boredom. Another reason is the high entry fees for every visit, which often discourages the local visitors to spend money on visiting these places. For instance, a famous cultural site named 'Sada Pind' charges Rs. 1000 per person, for this reason, the natives avoid spending this much amount on every visit. Nevertheless, this issue can be resolved by taking some effective actions. Primarily, to make these places attractive for local visitors cultural events, exhibitions and animated shows should be organized by the government. To exemplify, in the famous temple 'Akshardham' the laser show is performed that describes different religious stories, this inculcates the curiosity for visiting the place among natives. Next, there should be free entry passes for the local people on some specific days, this will encourage people to visit these places more frequently. For example, the National Museum in Delhi offers free visits on weekends for local people. To conclude, the local people offer less interest in visiting historical places and museums, as they do not enjoy their visits to these places. To make these places more alluring, interesting events need to be organized and free entry passes should be given to native people.