Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

Getting a job is thought to be linked with tertiary education by some people, but others are of the opinion that having good experience and required skills are crucial. It is sometimes seen that having a university degree provides an advantage to the applicants, but in my opinion, getting experience and sharpening skills are more fruitful. On the one hand, it is always important to have a good university degree to search for a good job. Although, getting a first job is always tough, it is very easy for employer to judge your skills on the basis of grade he got in his education. Therefore, having a university degree provides an edge over to those people who do not possess a degree. Moreover, for getting a professional job, one needs to get a university degree or professional degree to get into that particular profession. One the other hand, companies mostly rely on those people who possess high skills and wide range of experience for top management positions. In most management jobs, employers look for those people who have rich experience for the post. For example, for high end jobs, job requirements are always specifying the years of required experience and skills not an education. Therefore, enhancing skills are always recommended than to acquiring degrees to one’s portfolio. In conclusion, while, having a university degree or diploma is crucial to get a beginner’s job, I am of the opinion that acquiring skills and experience are more important to get a good or high paying job.