many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Museums and historical sites are among the local attraction in any city. However, a record of local's low attendance has been noticed in historical attractions in general. furthermore, understanding the cause behind that issue would help greatly in forming solutions relevant to the situation at hand. Undoubtedly, the absence or the general lack of locals visiting many popular local attraction sites is due to several reasons. One these reasons, is the general lack of interest, especially among the youngsters or even the lack of appreciation for their historical local attractions. For further elaboration, many Egyptian teens have never been to the pyramids nor they even want to and that's because taking the presence of these magnificent monuments for granted or even their common disinterest in their local history, thus, the decreasing attendance among locals. Another reason is, that governments in some countries discourage locals from attending such places, so that they will not mingle with tourists or intimidate them. Conceiving solution for this problem will not be easy, if the government does not consult and join forces with other interested parties. First, the authority should form a counsel consisting of ministry of tourism delegates, representatives from the ministry of culture and other government officials, and this counsel is solely dedicated to increasing the number of local visitors. Secondly, teachers at schools have to raise the children's awareness regarding the importance of cherishing one's culture. Moreover, trips to such monuments should be conducted weekly. finally, the media should exert extra effort in spreading positive propaganda and enticing information domestically. To sum up, visiting such places is crucial, especially to native youngsters and the government should favour the native presence over the foreign one and act on it.