Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract local people to these places?

Nowhere in history has the issue of visits from foreigners outnumbering those of locals been more visible. Accordingly, this essay aims at examining this phenomenon from various aspects as well as proposing possible solutions. A number of factors may account for this imbalance. Among the most viable reasons cited by people, the most common one is due to the curiosity of foreign tourists. Being newcomers to a country different from their homes, they will be inclined to gain deeper insights into the cultures that they are new to. Therefore, museums and places of historical importance receive considerable amount of attention from the non-natives. However, the causes go far deeper than mere curiosity. One may attribute the high entrance fees to this imbalance in visits. In particular, ticket price at these places are seemingly costly to less rich locals but the opposite for foreigners. In order to encourage attendance from locals, many courses of actions need to be taken urgently. In response to this challenge, one of the effective methods is to cut entrance fees at these sites so that visitors, regardless of nationality, will gain access more easily. Another feature worth consideration is that museum directors should revise their contents so as to organise visits to museums or history-related sites in a more creative and inspiring way. This policy, if carried out successfully, will not only enhance their images but will also attract more visitors since there will be a higher chance of those who have had the experience recommending their place of choice for others. All in all, museums and places of historical importance will be able to alleviate attendance of locals if prices and qualities are reconsidered. Therefore, I strongly demand this paper be taken into scrutiny to adopt appropriate policies.