Both the poor and the rich find the accessibility to university difficult.

It is argued by some people that both the wealthy and those with little means find it challenging to gain admission into university. I agree with this notion because accessibility to university is often based on academic merits and there is a limit to the number of students each higher institution can admit. First of all, a major reason for the difficult accessibility to higher institutions by the wealthy and the poor is because university's admissions are often base on academic performance. Therefore, students who meet the requirements for admission into colleges are offered admission first, even if the ability to pay tuition would be considered later. For instance, in Nigeria, credit pass in Mathematics and English is a prerequisite for undergraduate studies in federal universities. As a result, both the rich and the poor who fall short of these requirements would not be admitted in the university. Furthermore, there is a limit to the number of students who can be offered admission in various universities. In other words, universities will not admit more than the the number of students the resources of the university would cater for and all students are subjected to this system. For instance most higher institutions in Nigeria admit between 4000 and 10000 undergraduates annually. Thus, since both the rich and the poor are subjected to this quota system, no one is favoured. In conclusion, I agree with the view that both the affluent and the poor face the same difficulty in accessibility to university education due to the fact that both must meet academic requirements for admission and many universities have a limit on the number of yearly intakes, which equally affects everyone.