Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, but not local people. Why this is the case? What can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Nowadays, plenty of local museums and historical places are mostly visited by foreign tourists as compared to the local community. This is mainly because of high ticket prices and the lack of new developments. However, active measures could be taken to alleviate this issue which will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, the local community gets bored by visiting the same local museums and seeing similar historical places. For instance, Taxila museum which is located near Engineering university was developed in the 20th century. No new developments have been made since its development. People are offered with same old facilities every time they visit the museum therefore, local residents avoid visiting Taxila museum due to lack of new services. Secondly, local tourists mainly have to buy the tickets at the same price at which foreigners purchase. A good illustration is that all the visitors visiting historical places in Lahore will have to pay the equal amount of money no matter if the person is local or foreigner. Despite having issues the above-prescribed problem could be mitigated easily. One of the effective solutions to tackle this problem is that the local museums should sell tickets to local people at a lower price than foreign tickets price, this would definitely enhance local tourism. Another productive precaution is that the local museums and historical buildings must be renovated. For example, new facilities should be provided to the visitor which will attract local visitors, as local visitors will find new interesting things to watch. In conclusion, although the absence of new facilities and higher ticket prices have restricted local people to visit museums and old site, these problems can be resolved by adopting the above-mentioned solutions.