Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say they are just harmless and help people to relax.

Multimedia games containing violent content are liked by many across the globe. A section of the society believes that they should be banned because of their negative impacts. Others opine that computer games are a way to relax and should not be banned. I agree with the former opinion as violence-filled computer games alter the psychology of humans besides being a waste of time. On the one hand, playing computer games is regarded as the best pass-time activity. People have a hectic routine with very little time to enjoy themselves. As such, computer games are played by a number of people to soothe their nerves after a day’s hectic routine. Moreover, playing computer games is the easiest leisure activity to undertake. Unlike outdoor or arcade games, one can play multimedia games on a screen without having to arrange other players at any time. On the other hand, the psychological and individual impacts of violence-marred multimedia games can only be seen as negative. Firstly, computer games alter the psychology of the people, making them indifferent to violence. As blood and gore is fed over a period of time, the brain develops a sort of immunity to it. Eventually, people lose conscience and act indifferent to violence in actual life. Secondly, computer games are unproductive and a number of people waste their time on them. The learning opportunity in violent games is almost nil and people, especially youngsters, waste a lot of time which could be spent at a rather productive task. In conclusion, and in my opinion, although computer games are thought to be of importance for people’s entertainment, their gory content castes a very bad psychological impact on people. Also, computer games are a waste of time and therefore, they should be banned for masses.