Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

It is true that several governments regard economic progress as the most critical achievement of a country. However, others believe that there are alternative aspects in the society that should be concerned. In my opinion, I support both claims as each has its own reasons. To begin with, it is undeniable that a country with a vigorous economy status would reflect the prosperity as well as bring better facilities for that nation. Firstly, when the economy development is put as top-priority, there would be more jobs for inhabitants with better salaries. Thus, it definitely might address the high rate of unemployment in many developing and undeveloped countries. Moreover, strong finance ability could help a country have a stable stand in the globe stage, therefore, influence more on politics and trading. Secondly, the authorities would have more funds to invest on infrastructure and public services, which might improve the standard of living. For example, more schools and hospitals are built, thereby education and healthcare will be emphasized. On the other hand, economy is not the only element contributing to the thriving of a country. Other aspects are human rights, equality or happiness, which have crucial impact on millions of residents. It is a moral treatment that governments help the minority groups, for instance subsidize poor children in terms of education and open vocational courses for people in rural areas that could not seek a job. As a result, residents would feel the warm attention from the competent authorities towards them. Furthermore, a thriving country should focus on the environmental sustainability. As the economy grows fast, more industrial complexes are constructed, thus release large amount of untreated garbage as well as hazardous gas into the surroundings. In the long term, this probably would adversely affect health and more epidemic diseases would appear. By way of conclusion, it is crystal-clear that economic progress is extremely vital to a country, yet it is not the main field to focus on. From my point of view, it is better to develop all aspects in one time.