Many governments think that economic progress is their important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

People have different views about how government should measure their countries’ progress. While economic progress is of course essential, I agree with those who believe that other measures are just as important. There are three key reasons why economic growth is seen as a fundamental goal for country. Firstly, a healthy economy results in job creation, high level of employment and better salaries for citizens. Secondly, economic progress ensures that more money is available for government to spend on infrastructure and public services. For example, a government with higher revenues can invest in country’s transport network, its education system and its hospitals. Finally, a strong economy can help a country’s standing on global stage, in term of its political influence and trading power. However, I would argue that various other forms of progress are just as significant as the economic factors mentioned above. In particular, we should consider the area of social justice, human rights, equally and democracy itself. For example, the treatment of minority groups is often seen as a reflection of the moral standards and level development of a society. Perhaps, another key when judging the progress of a modern country should be how well the country protects the natural environment, and whether it is moving towards environmental sustainability. Alternatively, the success of a nation could be measured by looking at the health, well-being and happiness of its residents. In conclusion, the economy is obviously a key marker of a country’ success, but social, environmental and health criteria are equally significant.