Many feel that students today should learn practical skills at school such as car maintenance and managing a bank account.

It is commonly considered by many that the educational institutions should focus on teaching practical skills such as cooking, cleaning, dealing with bank affairs and repairing cars, whereas others tend to oppose this idea and believe that the basic education is the right of every citizen and therefore schools should concentrate on that. This essay agrees with the latter opinion, but will discuss both viewpoints in detail. On the one side, there are some people who hold a firm belief that practical skills should be taught at the school. This is because, they play a significant role in the human’s life as one has to perform all the essential household chores starting from cleaning, cooking, dishes and taking care of the business, at one point in the life, despite achieving all the success. Certainly, life would be easier if a person can learn to perform all the tasks in early age, so that he can focus on his career afterwards. Furthermore, practical skills learnt from school can be beneficial for supporting the higher studies. For instance, one of my cousins started a part time job as a cashier at the grocery store to fund his bachelor’s degree, which his father was unable to do, due to his medical illness. Thus, practical skills learned in the schools play a vital role in individual’s life. On the other hand, others opine that courses like Maths, Science, English, Computers and Sports should be an essential part of the school curriculum because once the student is trained with the basic stuff, it is easy to learn practical skills in later life. Additionally, school courses require expertise in the form of teachers and professors to gain the in-depth knowledge. However, practical skills always come with the experience and can be learned with own efforts. To exemplify, it is very easy to create an account in the bank, as everything is available online, one just has to follow the basic instructions. To conclude, although some people consider that school should teach practical skills. However, I believe teaching courses related to Science and Maths are more important to make people’s day to day life easier.