Many employers are now offering their employees the option to work from home. As a result, employees will have much more flexible working hours in the future. Is this a positive or negative development?

Due to the advancement of technology, remote working is greatly proliferated in many countries across the world. I, personally, believe it has both positive and negative effects on employees. On the one hand, I agree telecommuting is a positive trend. To elucidate, work remotely allows telecommuters to pursue their hobbies. Since the time spent in the car while commuting to the office can be now used in joining the gym membership or tennis court, which is not possible for the employees who have to work from the office. As a result, telecommuters tend to be more active and healthy. Moreover, it enables employees to save time and money. Since they do not have to commute to the office and avoid traffic. For instance, a survey conducted by BBC News revealed that the majority of telecommuters are able to save 18% of their salary which was spent on transports and lunch. On the other hand, it is also true that working from home can be a negative practice. It prevents employees from receiving high promotions. This is because most telecommuters do not know what is happening in the office and their efforts often get hidden from their employees. Hence, they are less inclined to receive promotions. Furthermore, family distraction might put an employee in a cripple situation because office works require the full attention of the employee along with a peaceful place. All employees do not possess the quality to cope up with family problems and it results in a lack of focus on assignments. For example, the recent study by the Times of India in April 2019 found that 58% of telecommuters are warned by their employer due to paying less attention to projects which stem from family distractions. In conclusion, it seems to me remote working is both positive and negative trends. Since it enables the employees to pursue their hobbies and save money from commuting, it restricts them from getting promotions and less attention can lead to the loss of a job.