Many people believe that the high levels of violence in films today are causing serious social problems. What are these problems and how could they be reduced?

Movies play an important role in human life, especially in term of entertainment. People love to spend their times watching movies together with their family or their beloved ones as it is very entertaining. However, some people argue that the frequent acts of atrocity in movies have been creating a worse impact on society. These usually involve physical violence which is unacceptable in the real world. Thus, putting restrictions for viewers of a certain age is hoped to reduce. Many scenes in films portray that hurting people physically is something normal in daily life. Frequently, the filmmakers put more fight scenes to illustrate how individuals deal with conflicts among their peers as they believe that the more fights added in a movie, the more captivating as it becomes. For example, instead of making a verbal argument scene between two men who have a conflict, the scriptwriter chooses to make it in a real fight. Consequently, some teenagers who watch this may consider that as something fine for adults and will keep that in mind until they grow older. Thus, this will lead people in the next generation to have rude and arrogant behaviour towards others. Nevertheless, one of the solutions to tackle is by giving more limitations, especially to teenagers. Though National Film Boards have been doing their job as well, the parents still have to be more aware of in controlling what their children watch. For instance, Teens are allowed to watch thrillers when they are 15 or older with parents’ guidance. Also, they all can sit together to discuss which kind of scene that is appropriate to the value of their family. Ultimately, by becoming more selective and restricted to the movies, such bad behaviour is expected to be reduced. In conclusion, the negative impact of violent film scenes will influence young people to do so in reality. To decrease the drawbacks, older people need to pay attention to what youngsters are watching these days.