Many employers are now offering their employees the option to work from home. As a result, employees will have much more flexible working hours in the future. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern workplace, many workers are being given the option to undertake their job from home, thus leading to the managing of one's own time. In my opinion, I believe that this is a positive development. Firstly, this essay will discuss, how being able to work away from the confinement of an office can bring positive elements into a worker's life. Secondly, it will discuss the positive impact this may have on a person when no longer involved in the day to day activities happening in the office environment. Firstly, having the option to work from home, can have a positive impact on an employee's schedule. This is especially so if the person has children or other dependants because working long hours is not always possible depending on your lifestyle. Therefore it allows the employee to manage their own schedule while ensuring that they maintain a work-life balance, working from wherever they are in the world. Having flexible working hours means that collecting children from school, spending time travelling and being able to attend non-work related appointments becomes much easier. For example, Google allows senior engineers to work remotely, using flexible hours for those who travel a lot or have the need to work with little interruptions. Similarly, employees can develop better mental health when they are removed from the everyday office environment. When working away from the office, the individual may feel like they can work at their own pace, take breaks when needed and deal with less stress. Working for long hours each day in an office environment with co-workers and management can seriously impact a person's mental health, leading to frustration, depression and burnout. For instance, according to an article published in The New York Times in 2016, a survey of people who work online, from home in the state of New York showed that 94% of people said they had developed overall better health. In conclusion, in my view, there are more positive elements than negative, as there are clear benefits to individuals who have the opportunity to work from home, including having a flexible schedule. However, those working away from the office environment should also manage their work/life balance, so they take care of their mental health.