Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that along with economic growth social values become endangered, despite the improvement in quality of life. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of economic development with regards to its effect on society' system of values. There is no doubt that common wealfare should be a goal for any country. Every innovation and each technological breakthrough throughout history has had the main purpose of making people' s life better. From my own observation, I can tell that people are happier and more proactive during times of economic prosperacy, compared to the period of the financial crisis, which took place in 2009. From the other hand, chasing material benefits people often forget about social and humanistic values. In other words, the more emphasize people make on earning money, the less attention they pay to social aspects of life. It is a usual practice for those living in urban areas to gradually replace human interaction with more and more hours spent at work. As a result, they become anti-social, serving a poor example to the younger generation and forming an ever-evolving cycle. Various studies have shown that people, who live in metropolitan areas are more depressed, than those living in smaller towns. To conclude, just like any other issue, this one has more than one side, too. However, after consideration of both advantages and disadvantages of the influence that economic development has on the social part of our lives, I can say that in my opinion benefits overwigh drawbacks.