Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Economic development has become the focus of most states. Although it provides prosperity and security to citizens, this progress could threaten the existence of social norms that have been embedded for generations. In my opinion, a better living standard should remain as the government's focus, despite the extinction of social values in the long term. The greatest benefit of development is it provides insurance, especially in the form of welfare for society. For decades, the government has strived for economic growth by building massive infrastructures that create job fields that enable a higher number of goods produced. With more products, consumptions are boosted and can stimulate the economy and, specifically, the money circulation. For instance, when the government builds toll roads, the farmer could deliver their goods to the customers with a lower distribution fee. Therefore, the range of advantages provided by the economic activity makes a better living standard possible in one nation. The main disadvantage of economic growth is the presence of globalization that provides a wider possibility for social norms to extinct. When people start to focus more on their career, aligning with the extensive attentions poured by the government to accelerate the economy, the nation as a whole begins to leave the norms that are irrelevant to globalization. As an example, the older generation had better interaction with their neighbor and relatives as they had time for these quality relations. However, the current generation tends to focus on workforce, making it difficult for them to build social connections. Hence, although people could enjoy welfare, they also leave the older values that used to persist. In conclusion, the development of the nation's economy has been increasingly prioritized. Despite a few harms contributed by economic growth, in my view, welfare, prosperity, and security of each society must still become the goal of the government.