Many companies use advertisements to increase sales. What are the main reasons that make an advertisement effective. Is it good or a bad thing to the society.

Over a period of time, advertisement has become the most popular strategy for marketing and promoting the products or services. It has brought significant change in the pattern of expenditure and consumption in the society. Some people support the idea of advertising a product, whereas others think that it brings a negative impact on the society. I will discuss both the views in my essay. On one hand, advertising is an effective way of spreading the awareness among people about the use of new and existing products. Moreover, it enables the customers to compare a product with other competitive products available in the market, so that they decide whether a product is worth buying or not. Advertisements help in educating the society about various health and safety issues. Additionally, it is the best way to raise the demand for the products. On the other hand, it stimulates people for impulsive buying by providing different promotional offers. As a result, instead of saving spend their money on purchasing unnecessary goods. Sometimes, through advertising some companies provide exaggerated and unrealistic review of their products. Consequently, people are misguided and cheated by such marketing tricks. Moreover, it only highlights the positive characteristics of a product and tries to hide its negative aspects. In Summation, certainly, the production and innovation of goods and services have increased due to industrialisation. Nevertheless, as a result of advertisements, the gap between the producers and consumers has also narrowed. In my opinion, although advertisements have both negative and positive impact on the society, but the benefit of providing awareness outweighs any negatives.