Many children have unsupervised access to the internet and are using the internet to socialize with others. This can lead to a number of dangerous situations that can be threatening for children. What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision. How can these be tackled.

Advancement of technology enables our children with easy access of internet and make friendship with anyone without any proper guidance which have many consequences. One of the main problems with this is that the children can be cheated by strangers, but this can be reduced by giving proper guidance and other ways of safe usage of internet. Young children are always eager to make new friends. Therefore, gaining access to the internet and social media sites will make them contact with many strangers. Few of the strangers can be a thief, trying to steal information’s about credit cards of parents of these kids. Teenagers can be easily cheated by these thieves by making them believe about some cool offers about games or gadgets, which young children always wanted. For instance, in a survey conducted by internet security awareness agency in 2018 in India, 76 percentage of the robbery associated with credit cards is involved with kids. The main reason for kids being fall under fraudulence is the lack of proper guidance. Parents can play a major role in giving proper suggestions to the kids. First step a family can do is to make a friendly atmosphere at home to discuss about the friends that kids are making in social media. Accordingly, they can check any unwanted behaviour from any of the internet friends of their children. Monitoring the history of internet usage is another way of handling the issue. Nowadays, there are many applications by which parents can easily check the history of web usage. In conclusion, there are many problems associated with web usage by youngsters, but usage of internet is inevitable. For that reason, there must be proper observations on web usage. With proper guidance and proper monitoring social media usage can be a good moment for youngsters.