Many children are encouraged by their parents to get a part-time job in their free time. What are the advantages and disadvantage to children of doing so?

Many parents inspire their children to work during their leisure time. Although an after-school job seems like an excellent approach to use free time, this trend bears some negative impacts. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of getting a part-time job after school hours. One of the advantages of a part-time job is that it will give children a real life work experience. Additionally, it will help them to gain work skills such as how to complete a job application, how to do well in interviews, and how to work for a supervisor. According to a survey conducted by the University of California, the majority of teenagers who used to work after school is getting hired by companies quicker than teenagers who have not had any work experience. Therefore, having work experience during the educational years will not only show that students have some exposure to the professional world, but also it will give them an advantage over their peers while job-hunting. Nevertheless, there are certain drawbacks to doing a part-time job. For example, while working, students will not have adequate time to study and finish school-related homework because they will be exhausted, and they will need time to get rest. Thus, being busy with a job while learning might have a negative impact on studying. Moreover, children who have a part-time job might lose interest in future studies. When young people get financial freedom at such a tender age, they might start to neglect their studies, and they may get deviated by temporary financial security. In conclusion, part-time jobs during academic years might offer some benefits to young people; however, the negative impacts of working at a young age can not be overlooked. Students should be discouraged from acquiring a job if it might affect their studies.