Many children are encouraged by their parents to get a part-time job in their free time. What are the advantages and disadvantages to children in doing so?

In some countries, teenagers are motivated by their parents to work while attending school or university. This essay will discuss both positive and negative aspects of doing a part-time job on children. Employment train younger generation necessary skills and make them independent. Students learn some essential talents, which is of great benefit when they take on real jobs after graduation, while working during their childhood. It also makes them self-sufficient and they rely less on their parents, who have other responsibilities too, for pocket money. According to a recent study conducted at Harvard University, proved that individuals who worked during their student life perform better in their careers. For these reasons, some parents encourage their children to utilize their free time working. While teenagers learn some important expertise, it hinders with their studies and their results get affected eventually. They get involved in their work so much that they lose their focus on studying, which should be their first priority, which will ruin their future. It also exposes them to abuse. Young people are vulnerable at that age and can easily become a target of molestation at the workplace. A study concluded at Oxford University, said that students who take on part-time jobs perform worse than those who don’t. Therefore, bad grades and mistreatment are the outcomes of teen employment. In conclusion, some parents promote their children to work in their spare hours. This essay discussed the advantages of child labour that it helps them learn new skill sets and makes them less dependent on their old people. It also debated the disadvantages that affect your performance at school and increase the chances of harassment.