Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunize their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children?

The general argument is that parents know what is best for their children but this is not always the case. For example, there are still many parents who choose not to vaccinate their children. While some people argue that parents should have the option to opt out of child vaccination programmes, I believe that the government should make it illegal for parents not to immunize their children. Of course, not every child is a candidate for vaccines and some exceptions should be made. Some kids are born physically weaker than other kids. For this reason, their parents should consult medical experts prior to getting their children immunized to prevent unwanted side effects. For example, children who are diagnosed with some genetic disorders should not be given vaccines that can cause more harm than good. Next, isolated tribes that are cut from the outside world should also be exempt from vaccinations. For instance, the Amazonians are living in the deep jungle of Brazil and they have no contacts with outsiders; hence, they are not exposed to many diseases that typically affect children. As a result, modern vaccines are deemed unnecessary for these people who live in isolation. On the other hand, since the vast majority of children benefit from vaccination, it is the duty of the government to ensure that they have access to it. One way of achieving this is to make it compulsory for parents to immunize their children. This will not only ensure that children are given the best possible protection against incurable illnesses, but also help to prevent the spread of some diseases. For example, polio has been successfully eradicated due to government intervention that made polio vaccination compulsory in the 1950’s. In many parts of the world, there are still parents who choose not to provide vaccinations to their children because of superstitions and various socio-religious reasons. Making vaccinations mandatory is the only way to ensure that all kids have access to lifesaving shots. The government should also make vaccination certificates mandatory for admission to schools. In conclusion, vaccinations help save lives and the only way to ensure that all kids have access to them is to make it a legal requirement. Of course, children should be exempted from receiving vaccinations in cases where the downsides of receiving the shots outweigh the benefits.