Many businesses find it very difficult to assign enough time and resources to research and development. What could a government do to encourage more company spending in this area?

I strongly agree with the statement that research and progress cannot be flourished just by the individual efforts of private sector companies without enough support and cooperation of governments. Almost all the reputed companies fix some budget for research and development of their products but personal or company's interests put aside the common and noble cause of research due to short of resources. Governments need their part to play to promote the culture of research going side by side with companies for the common cause of development. There are lots of measures which government can do.   But I share with you here, some options in my mind. For example, some government organisations can be established to create an environment of trust and security among people and companies to monitor and regulate the process of research such as Federal development authority, Ministry of health sciences etc. Moreover, funding resources should be provided to companies, researchers and even students of universities who are working on valuable research areas for the noble cause of humanity.   A committee can be made to review the projects submitted and pass them on to the selection procedure. The selected candidates should be awarded funds or scholarships for their projects to complete within the fixed period of time. I quote you here my own example, being working as research scientist in a cancer hospital. One of my projects is still in the papers due to the limited supply of funds. To sum up my talk, I would like to say that governments, especially of undeveloped countries have to take some measures to support and promote the culture of research in private sector companies and community. Otherwise, we will lose the cream of our young minds and their life-changing abilities by spoiling their ideas and frustrating their minds.