Many businesses find it very difficult to assign enough time and resources to research and development. What could a government do to encourage more company spending in this area?

Numerous organisations are mainly focusing on their core competence which is doing trade and generating profit for their shareholders. I personally believe that it has become essential for the government to play an active role in motivating companies to contribute in innovating. The main reason companies do not prefer investing money and people in doing innovation because it is an added cost without any guarantee of returns in near future. Besides that in order to be competitive organisations needs to be cost effective and offer products at a highly competitive rate. Additionally, in order to innovate industries need to first invest in training manpower, inducting right talents from the market which is as well driven by cost and invest in technology. By adding these recurring expenditure companies get demoralised and avoid innovating. In my view, organisations face obstacles which prevent them from venturing in this area. Thus government should offer tax rebates for companies who invest in innovation. And reward companies for developing solutions for the well-being of mankind. Organisations would be prompted to set up research labs and they will start competing amongst each other in innovations or patents as well. Furthermore, the government should ease regulatory and legal policy for setting up innovation labs. By doing this, companies will get confidence in the system and enable them to conduct experiments and test in research activities.   Such boosts to industries definitely encourage and motivate them, look beyond their trade targets and compete in innovation. Certainly, industries will be benefiting in long run by innovating cost-effective products and producing them for the well-being of mankind. In conclusion, I believe that government can play a major role in pushing industries to make rational decisions in investing in innovation.   Because of innovation, organisations can benefit their overall businesses.