Some teachers let students choose topics that interest them on research papers. Others assign topics on research papers. Which one do you prefer?

For centuries there a plethora of ways have been trying to reduce crime rates. However, some believe that increasing prison sentence might reduce the number of crimes committed while others opine that there are alternate ways of tackling it. I support the latter as increasing sentence might have an adverse effect and working on factors leading to crimes seems imperative. To begin with, the more time a prisoner spends in prison, the more he or she is unlikely to be rehabilitated or adapt to the society outside. To cite an example, in a recent research study on Tihar jail in India, it was found that the prisoners who spent less than 2 years in jail did not commit another crime after getting out while the ones who had spent more than 10 years in the first term were back in jail. The second timers had forgotten or lost touch of living in a civilised society. Hence, spending more jail time has proven to have an adverse on crime rates. In addition, facing the reasons why people commit crimes is more important than keeping the criminals away from society. To cite an example, in a documentary on poverty in India people in rural areas said they had to opt for scamming and stealing as they had no financial or any kind of support from the government. This begs the question is that if we would have been in their shoes, wouldn't we have also done the same? Therefore, tackling the reason why people commit crimes can be more effective in mitigating crime. In summary, longer prison sentence might in fact increase the frequency of crimes and working towards the root cause where people are forced to commit a crime could be more efficient. In conclusion, I do not agree with the fact that stretching the sentence period is the best way to reduce crime.