Many agricultural lands are being converted into commercial centres. How does this affect the environment and the people's life style? Discuss this situation and provide suggestions. Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

In recent decades, citizens of developed countries have been observing the transformation of rural areas into shopping malls. To my mind, this change influences negatively on surrounding environment and quality of local inhabitants' life. In this essay, I shall refer to a number of examples to illustrate problems that arise due to this trend and propose some ways to mitigate this issue. To begin with, deforestation leads to extinction of some creatures. In other words, because of this transformation, the large number of insects lost their shelters, forcing them to migrate outside the city. For example, shopping centre built in one of Warsaw suburbs caused disappearance of few species that had used to live in this area. I believe that the best solution to tackle this problem is creating separate park areas nearby malls where animals will be able to settle. Secondly, the majority of locals' complaints are related to the noise. To clarify, a few floors of shops and a crowd of daily customers cause sleeplessness of people who live in nearby blocks of flats and were used to being surrounded by rural areas. Due to opening a commercial centre, the level of loudness in close housing estates has increased what might affect residents’ productivity and comfort. For instance, as a result of organising mass events by one of Westfield Shopping Centre, the unemployment rate in residential area has rocketed. The method of dealing with this issue might be implying strict rules and penalties against loud concerts and festivals. In conclusion, while commercial activities are causing environmental deterioration and increase of inhabitants’ comfort, the government authorities must play a strict role in controlling this imbalance.