Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions.

In contemporary life, the question as to whether or not traditional libraries should be preserved has drawn much attention from the public. Although I understand that breakthrough technology is beneficial in the sense of accommodating us with an array of advanced functions, conventional libraries are definitely an indispensable part for public access. On the one hand, the advances in computer science have certainly contributed to our ability to adapt the changeably modern life, and a huge amount of the latest information in particular. Obviously, traditional libraries are likely to be inferior to advanced science. In other words, anyone can get access to online reading resources easily which is featured by a limitless supply of digital-based information via ebook or videos with visual and auditory aids. Therefore, it is unnecessary to commute to the libraries and remember the deadline to return books as the process of registering and searching for books or reference materials seems to be more time-consuming and complicated than mouse handling. On the other hand, I believe that traditional libraries still play a critical role with various tremendous benefits. To start with, as an ideal place with an impressive collection of time-honoured reading documents, libraries might enable readers to get exposure to such reliable resources that are not available on the online platform. Moreover, preserving conventional libraries is considered as a way to deter readers from eye-related problems like shortsightedness, especially children who are more inclined to glue their eyes to the computer screen. In conclusion, there is no doubt that online libraries have gained popularity in our digital age thanks to their outstanding functions. However, I truly believe that those latest cutting-edge technologies cannot completely replace the needs of public libraries.