Machine translation (MT) is slower and less accurate than human translation and there is no immediate or predictable likelihood of machines taking over this role from humans.

Machines and specially computers are involved in almost everything we do these days. One of the areas that machines got profoundly involved in recent years is translation. Some people however think that there is a huge gap between the speed and accuracy of translation from machines and humans. Although machines may not be as good as humans in all aspects of translation at the moment, but I believe in a not so far future this job will be dominated by machines. Hereby I explain my viewpoints. First of all, although machine translation, known as MT, may not be able to produce the same accuracy as human translation does, but it definitely wins the race of speed. Machines can translate almost any article in a blink of an eye. For example, Google Translate can translate everything in a fractions of a second. Thus, machines are not only not behind from humans in factor of pace but also they are already ahead. Secondly, it is understandable that machines may lack some deep knowledge require for translation of some more complex writings. For example, articles in literature or philosophy may not receive a high quality translation from a machine comparing with a human work. However, with the upcoming expansion in the machine learning area, along with the advent of mega-processors and “exadata” databases, soon machines not only will be able to close the gap to humans but also will be better than humans by far. As an instance, scientists already have built machines, advanced enough to detect voice or read facial expression of human. So it won’t be surprising to see machines that can translate poem better than human in a not so far future. On the conclusion, machines need to improve in order to be better translators that humans in all features of translation and for all types of writing. But they are not so far behind. The ongoing advancements in hardware and software soon will place MT in a spot that humans will probably never be able to reach.